Scoop for Pellet Litter

amethyst

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I'm sure this has been answered before but I'm not able to find it, for those that use pine pellets for litter what kind of scooper do you use? I'm planning to try pellet litter with my cats, I'm ordering a cheap sifting litter box (just to see how they like the litter before investing too much) but I'm a bit stumped on what people use to scoop out the poop with. Is it better to I get one of those wire scoopers like this? https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/61OS3HsBL7L._AC_SL1001_.jpg Or are they not worth it and better or just as good to just stick with a regular litter scoop that I use for clay litter?

maeganj

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I'm an amateur when it comes to pine pellets, but I just use a regular run of the mill scoop, more specifically the Nature's Miracle brand. It's nothing special. The pellets that are stuck on the poop need to be tossed anyways so I don't worry about them not falling through the holes. I also do a reverse sift operation every few days to get the spent pellets out of there.

This video is basically the process I use, for clarity purposes.

ladytimedramon

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I got a scoop from Hollywood feed that had wider slots that worked pretty good.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

amethyst

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I'm an amateur when it comes to pine pellets, but I just use a regular run of the mill scoop, more specifically the Nature's Miracle brand. It's nothing special. The pellets that are stuck on the poop need to be tossed anyways so I don't worry about them not falling through the holes. I also do a reverse sift operation every few days to get the spent pellets out of there.

This video is basically the process I use, for clarity purposes.