Red Dog Blue Cat food -- complete food? advice for newbie to raw diet

jimmypage

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all,

I'm new to raw feeding and am hoping someone out there can help me with a question about raw diet.

I have a new kitten that we're feeding raw food for the first time (previous cat was fed kibble and wet food -- we've learned a lot since then!). We're feeding him Red Dog Blue Cat food, which is a Canadian manufacturer, and we give him a mixture of the Chicken and Buffalo types. The ingredients are below:

Buffalo: Non-medicated buffalo meat, buffalo heart, buffalo liver & Organic: chard, leafy lettuce, kale, sweet potato, squash, beet, free-range egg yolk, wild salmon oil

Chicken: Free-range, non-medicated chicken meat, chicken bone, chicken heart, chicken liver & Organic: kale, leafy lettuce, yams, zucchini, squash, free-range egg yolk, wild salmon oil

My question is: is this a "complete" food source? As in, is this all we need to feed our kitten for him to be healthy and growing up strong? We buy our food frozen, and we've heard some concerns about Taurine and Salmon oil being destroyed in the freezing process, so every day or two we supplement his food with some powdered Taurine and salmon oil from a capsule. We also give him a chicken neck or chicken wing a couple times a week so his teeth get a bit of a cleaning, though the raw food we feed him does have ground-up bone as part of the formula.

Any Red Dog Blue Cat users out there that have any advice in terms of supplements? We are happy to be feeding our new cat raw food and he loves it, but we're just worried that we're not giving him all the nutrients he needs to be healthy. We also haven't found a vet yet who is happy to help us with the raw diet thing (both we've visisted have recommended we switch to canned wet food for "our own good").

Thanks so much!

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise