Raw Food Safety?

dsue

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi Cat lovers! Question: Re: Safety: It makes sense to feed raw food, am considering it, but what about parasites or any dangers to humans? I understand the meat should be frozen 3 days? Should organic chicken be ok? I read the wings clean teeth? I am new to this. Any comments or suggestions appreciated! Take care.

ritz

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Welcome to The Raw Side :)

Here is an article about raw food and parasites and the like.  http://www.thecatsite.com/t/248317/raw-feeding-and-parasites-questions

And one about salmonella.  Did you know there have been more cases of salmonella illnesses  from kibble than from chicken.   http://feline-nutrition.org/nutrition/spooked-by-salmonella-raw-food

Here is a link to an article about how pet food (not raw) causes illnesses.

http://www.mousabilities.com/nutrition/research.html

And unless you hunt your own meat, then you don't have to worry about freezing meat for three days.

Chicken wings do a  good job of cleaning teeth, as so any small bones.  Bones should ALWAYS ALWAYS be fed raw.

There are a lot more articles in the stickies at the top of the Raw & Home Cooked Cat Food forum.

cprcheetah

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have been feeding raw to my dogs for 3 years, my cats 2 weeks.  I am not the most hygienic about cleaning up after myself with the raw and my hubby and I both have what the doctors consider compromised immune systems because of all our ailments.  I have never contracted anything from feeding raw.  I usually don't freeze any of my meat unless it's wild game except for pork for a certain amount of time.  My chihuahua has regular fecals done and has never had any problems with parasites.  Dog and cats systems are designed to handle raw.

peaches08

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise