Raising A Kitten Alone Vs Having A Companion?

CrazyZiggyCat

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm not really sure where to post this thread but here goes.....
I rescued a kitten when he was about 5 weeks old. He is 4 months now, happy, healthy, very playful and energetic. He is not fixed yet, but will be soon.

Which bring me to the big question, is it better for him to grow up alone or would he be better off with a companion?? My last cat was older when I got her and she preferred to be the only cat in our house. This is my first time with a new kitten in the house. I have heard that they are better adjusted with another kitten to play with and grow up with. Another male?

Then I wonder if he will get along with another kitten and what if he doesn't. I have thought of maybe fostering another kitten around the same age as a trial and adopt if it all works out. Is that wrong? And more importantly - will having two kittens in the house totally do me in! He is a handful as it is. Do I really want to have another kitten to try to train not to chew and scratch furniture? And not to bite me!

My husband and I are both retired and home a lot so he gets quite a bit of attention from us and he likes to be where we are and in the middle of whatever we are doing. But we do like to travel so that brings another question into the mix, leaving him alone (with a sitter of course) while we are gone or boarding him. Is it better to have another cat around for company while away? Is that less stressful? Do cats board well?

I seem to be struggling with lots of questions here, sorry. I want to be a good fur mommy and I would really appreciate hearing any thoughts and words of wisdom that you care to share.
Thanks in advance!!

susanm9006

Lola
Top Cat
Purraise