Questions About Raising A Five Week Old Kitten

KimbasMom

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
82C2FF90-8FE9-43B0-899E-FFB82A516339.jpeg
Sorry if this is long, and if these questions have been asked a million times on here. A friend of mine found an abandoned kitten in his back yard, and according to him the mother never came back. My husband and I took him in, I’ve lived with cats my whole life (I’ve had 15 at once! Different story) so I thought I would know what I was doing. I’ve had kittens this young before when I was a kid, but I had my parents to do all the nitty gritty training/poop clean up/etc. Plus the mother cat was always living with us too. This is my first time adopting an animal as an adult, and I have concluded I have no idea what I’m doing.
1. He bites and scratches like CRAZY. Of course, because he’s just being a kitten (duh). But he will attack my face, I have scratches up and down my arms, legs, and back. I don’t really mind this because I’m used to pets, but his little claws seriously hurt! We are clipping them about once a week, but it doesn’t help that much. I try redirecting him to toys, but he seems uninterested in them and goes back to playing with my hands. I heard that when they are taken from their mothers too young they don’t know manners very well, will he grow out of this? I never physically discipline him, besides picking him up and setting him somewhere else and the occasional blowing in his face if he bites mine.
2. He completely avoids the litter box. He will literally poop anywhere else besides the litter box. Every time he’s about to go I’ll put him in the litter box but he won’t have it. He also has diarrhea, but I took him to the vet and he was completely healthy. Is this normal? I love the baby but it’s so tiring having to clean cat diarrhea off the carpet every time he eats.
I guess I’m just an unsure, worried new cat mom. Am I doing anything wrong/right? I’m nervous because he’s so young without a momma cat.