Questions About Feeding

nwc

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I'm brand new to cat parenthood, and this thread is to ask two questions I often have while browsing here:

1. Aside from weight issues, how can you tell if a kitten or cat is actually hungry? Mine could be full, and will still start begging and sniffing his food bowl if he sees me go into the kitchen.

2. What would it mean for the cat to have a problem with dry food (I'm assuming kibble, and not freeze dried meats?) As others have mentioned so far, each company has a different formula. What would it mean for a cat to have a vomiting problem with dry food across the board?

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter

nwc

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Since this was moved to its own thread, I would like to clear two things up:

1. I am aware that you are not supposed to reward undesirable behavior, and so I stick to a schedule and do not feed whenever begged. However, I often see advice here to feed kittens infinitely up to a year. Which brings the next question,

2. This question isn't about my cat in particular. It rather refers to seemingly contradicting information I have seen throughout the forums.

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
It kind of depends on how old the kitten is. young kittens need to have access to food very often. If it isn't dry food, which can be left out all day, then they should have access to wet food several times per day, and be able to eat pretty much as much as they want. After about 6 months it's probably ok to start putting them on scheduled meals, but still several meals per day, in my humble opinion. Maybe 4 or 5 still. Then by 9 or 10 months they should be able to go to 3 meals per day and by one year you should be able to cut dosn slightly on the amount of food you are feeding at those meals. (unless you have a large breed cat, then everything I just said timewise should be extended out)