Question for the breeders

sohni

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Hi, some might remember me but if not be assured that I am a serious breeder. I've been breeding and showing Egyptian Maus for 5 years.

My latest queen prospect came of age in the Spring and I have been waiting to breed her. She came into her first strong heat in January but was too young, so I waited. In early June she appeared to be in heat but it was not strong, she rawred a few times, so I introduced her to the male by keeping her in an enclosure next to him. Once they were friendly, I put them together but didn't witness a mating. My grandfather passed away that week and so I did not get a chance to watch them mate.

I brought her out after 4 days, and have been watching but she doesn't appear to be pregnant.

She has not gone back into heat, so I am wondering if she is having 'silent' heats, and if so, how am I going to know when to put her with the male? My males live in a separate cattery building, so I could put her in an enclosure beside them but I may miss any signals she is putting out.

Anyone have a female who doesn't have recognizable heats?

carolina

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi hun! :doh3: of course we remember you! Well, sorry I can't be of help, since I am not a breeder, but I just wanted to offer you my condolences for the passing of your grandpa :hugs: and say welcome back to tcs :wavey:
:hugs:
Oh miss your kitties too, hope you post pictures soon, they are beautiful! Stick around!

missymotus

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My import girl doesn't call, I've watched for signs of silent heats too. She did call when I brought a stud in but since it was his first day of arrival I didn't put her with him.
My friend was still able to tell by smoochiness, paddling when the end of her back was scritched, basically like any other girl minus all the noise.

I'll probably pen her near the boy and see if he notices changes in her. And will get her further tested soon if nothing happens