Q About Breeding Cats

VintageLahni

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi to you all who adore cats!!

Im Lahni.

Im a total newbie who just signed up here!

I would really appreciate it if you guys can help me with some information..

I live in Cali and am soon to be a future cattery owner.

I have registered my cattery name with TICA and CFA so far.

And now I’m trying to apply for EIN, but I got stuck from the beginning.

The 1st Step is Choose Entity Type.

Which one do I choose?

1. Individual/
  2. Limited Liability company/
  3. Trust/
  4. Estate of Decreased Indivisual/
  5. Non-Profit Org/
  6. Partnership/ Corporation/
  7. S-Corperation/
  8. Personal Service Corporation/
  9. Church Org
??

Is cattery business #1 or #8 ?? Or something else?? I have no clue!!

As I’m going through this application, I will most likely keep asking you to help me with all those Qs.

I THANK YOU IN ADVANCE

mservant

The Mouse servant
Veteran
Purraise
Do you already have the cats you plan to breed from, or are you making arrangements with other registered breeders?

I'm afraid I live in the UK and therefor not familiar with 'EIN'

Mamanyt1953

Rules my home with an iron paw
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Actually, you might want to look at #2, the LLC. There are lots of articles about them on google, and there are some tax advantages for a small business owner to be had, as well as some protections of personal property. They do vary from state to state somewhat, so you do need to plug your state into your search.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

VintageLahni

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Yes, I am waiting for my kittens to be old enough to leave their mommy cat. It’s going to be late summer.
Meanwhile, I’m trying to figure out what I need to prepare.
Since my mentor cattery is Russia- My breed is Siberian-, I can’t ask my mentor about this. I might just contact local or anywhere in US for advice.
EIN- Employer Identification Number.. basically Tax ID..