Probiotics Or No?

Binxandlily

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
hello again everyone.

I have two raw fed cats. Binx is a male tuxedo, just two months shy of two years old. I have been feeding him raw since he was about 6 months old. Lilith is my 8 month old manx/bengal mix who I adopted from the SPCA in January and switched to a 100% raw diet about two months ago. Binx has always done well with raw and has had absolutely no issues. He took to it the very first time I put it in his bowl. Lily did as well, which I was happy about.

Even from the first day I brought Lily home, she's had some slight poop issues. As soon as I signed her adoption paperwork and picked her up to put in her carrier to go home, I noticed her poor butt was very inflamed and red. I didn't think to ask the shelter about it, but I really should have.

I assumed maybe she had an allergy to something in the food they were feeding her in the shelter (some sort of prescription science diet). I began feeding her grain free canned kitten food. Her poop issues became apparent pretty quickly. Every time she pooped, she'd have pretty bad diarrhea remnants on her bum. She has no tail, so it was easy to see. I would have to clean her up every time she used the litter box. I brought it up to her vet when I took her in for a check up, and he did not seem concerned. He chalked it up to her adjusting to a new home and a new diet. I accepted that answer at the moment. But even after about a month, she still had issues and I still needed to clean her butt after she used the litter box.

I thought maybe a switch to raw was in order. I began homemaking their food with raw ground turkey thighs. For a while, that seemed to work. Her poops were solid for the first time since I adopted her. But just recently, she's been having liquid poops again and it's becoming worrisome. She also cries like she's in pain whenever I have to wipe her butt.