Predictions on cat colors??

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
These are purebreds, I presume.
How would you describe the coloring of momma? Im not good at recognizing colors of naked cats...

Maurey

Maine Coon Madness
Top Cat
Purraise
What are the recessive genetics? Do either carry choc or cinnamon? Does mum carry non-agouti or dilute?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Jadeloveshercat

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
These are purebreds, I presume.
How would you describe the coloring of momma? Im not good at recognizing colors of naked cats...
Yes they are purebred, The momma has stripes on the side of her face, on her legs, and on her belly. And she has a little bit of tortie like markings. I attched a photo of her body and face

Attachments

Jadeloveshercat

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
What are the recessive genetics? Do either carry choc or cinnamon? Does mum carry non-agouti or dilute?
I’m not fimiliar with cat genetics, could you give me a short summary?

Jadeloveshercat

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Yes they are purebred, The momma has stripes on the side of her face, on her legs, and on her belly. And she has a little bit of tortie like markings. I attched a photo of her body and face
Here’s another picture (she looks really small but I promise she’s full size lol)

Attachments

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
I’m not fimiliar with cat genetics, could you give me a short summary?
The starting question was, what are the dilute genes they may carry, to your knowledge... The usual with purebreds cats owners do know this; or at least, the breeders do know this, knowing exactly the ancestors and their looks in several generations.

The genetics as such are the usual... Dominant genes are visible on the kids; recessive genes not visible on child, unless the same or similiar dilute gene is coming from both momma and daddy...