Please Wish Me Luck.

mokapi

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
So I'm in the middle of considering a massive career "change". This is going to be a long post, and there's really no "TL;DR" I can offer, so kudos and thanks to you if you read the whole thing.

Back story: I graduated high school early, went to trade school, and immediately got a job in the field. I worked there for five years and hated every minute of it. I then got a job in the field I'm actually passionate about, but of course it makes no money without a Master's degree (at LEAST, if not Master's + Bachelor's + a buttload of certifications). Life and being an actual adult pressured me to get a boring 8-5. I can't do it. The only way I can think to describe it to people is to imagine crating a border collie or a husky for 10 hours a day. I'm going insane. It's worsening my depression and my anxiety, and I'm becoming downright combative, which means my tenure here is up. I hate it every day. I'm a good worker...when I'm given good things to do. Otherwise, between ADHD/anxiety/whatever else, I start falling into a downward spiral.

My boyfriend and his dad are both in skilled trades: bf is a welder, and his dad is a plumber. They've been encouraging me to get into a union apprenticeship for something. His dad recommended electrician, but is also fairly keen on HVACR for me. I adored the little bit of stick welding my boyfriend lets me do in the backyard. I took to it very naturally. I had so much fun...he took a picture of me and I'm standing on the back porch with this huge, doofy grin on my face, holding up his welding helmet in one hand and holding the torch in the other. It's hilarious but I was clearly having so much fun.

I don't really want to copy him and become a welder, though, so I am looking into electrician apprenticeships. I've found a few, and I put in applications. Problem is, I have literally no experience/background. I'm hopeful, but don't want to get those hopes up too high.