Pet Sitters

dawn05

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Has anyone used pet sitters? When we go on vacation this the summer, my daughter is coming to feed our kitties.

I was wondering, though, to give my daughter a break, maybe I could have a pet sitter come over once or twice. I've never done this before.

Are they expensive? I worry that they can be trusted? Anyone have experience with this?

cdubbie

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I work as a pet sitter, and the best way to know for sure they can be trusted is to get a referral from someone you trust, if you dont know them personally.

cdubbie

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Originally Posted by dawn05

Are they expensive? I worry that they can be trusted? Anyone have experience with this?
Sorry, I didnt really answer your questions:

expensive? Depends on what service you need. For a cat where I dont live in but must visit 1-2xs/day I charge $10/day usually.

If you get a pet service that is bonded I think they are more likely to be satisfactory but maybe more expensive. A service wont keep sitters who have complaints against them.

If you are finding your own sitter w/o a service, I recommend getting a pet lover and possibly someone a bit "older". Plenty of neighborhood teenagers/college students may be all for sitting, but when I did it at that age I had parties at the owners's houses. (I was a bad kid).