Newly Adopted Cat Still Scared

teestro

Toni S.
Kitten
Purraise
Hoping for some advice regarding my newly adopted cat. It’s been almost two weeks since she’s come to my home, and I’m feeling a bit nervous about her behavior. This is my first time owning a cat, as well.

She has been hiding under my couch or dresser since I got her, and comes out at night or when I am not home to eat some food/drink some water and use the liter box. She is not interested in playing with toys (I have a laser and a wand toy as suggested by the foster) or eating treats from me, unless I leave them and walk away. Up until now, she has been sweet and has let me pet her while hiding- though I have only done this for a second or so as to not bother her, and after allowing her to smell me. Earlier today, I placed a treat next to her as she was hiding and she tried to scratch my hand. I feel badly that I may have caused more harm than good. When I adopted her, i was told how sweet and affectionate she was, but I am unsure if that is the case, or I just need to have a different approach/give it time. Any tips? (I’ve read a bunch of articles here, but looking for some more advice). Thanks:)

Lari

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Mine took a while, and was almost two weeks before she let me pet her (she was 4.5 months when I got her, if that helps). She cried terribly the first couple nights and I felt like the worst, because she was in my bedroom and she didn't want me in there (I had no other choice because the only other room that had a door was the bathroom and it barely has enough room for its fixtures much less cat stuff).

This was her:
20170827_174613.jpg