Newbie here...transitioning to raw

cheshirebite

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
As much as I love the idea of doing home-cooked for my cat, right now I feel like it's too much for me to handle especially since my cat is not used to raw. So I bought Radcat (smallest size my local pet store carried) and snatched the last chicken sample size (the flavor I bought since he loves his chicken). I went from giving half of the sample size to 1/4 of a tsp (because duh! he's not used to it). I took a small scoop with my index finger (no bigger than a pea). He managed to eat three bites (with a lot of hesitation, sniffing, rubbing against me, me calling him back, him sniffing again and etc) before he called it quits. 

My questions are:

1) How long can I put the food out before there's too much bacteria/it becomes inedible? I threw out what he couldn't finish since they were in room temp (they became mushy) and was sitting in the bowl for 10min.

2) Any tips/tricks out there for transitioning? He eats mostly wet food (NV LID, Wild Calling, Weruva, Ziwi Peak, etc) and a bit of dry when I'm rushing out the door or sometimes at night or when he's in a "hangry" mood (I use 1/4c to scoop it out, but I'm pretty sure I give him only a tbsp and a tsp). 

3) I'm not sure about how much to give him now (if he decides that he likes it) as I don't normally follow directions from the manufacturers. He's between 10-14lbs, going to be 7yrs old in a few months, and no illness at all. I want him to stay that way which is why I'm changing his diet. 

Starting this month, I plan on spending max $35 per month due to financial issues. I've got two 2.2lb of Nature's Variety which normally lasts one-two and a half months. So I would like to finish that before completely transitioning him, or maybe donate the unopened one to a nearby shelter if the transition is smoother than expected. There's also wet food readily available. 

4) Is it possible to spend only $35 monthly in a commercial raw diet?