New Kitten and raw feeding

makovach

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello. I am new to the site. I have been feeding my three boxers prey model raw for five months. Yesterday, we adopted a little male Maine Coon mix kitten, His name is Thor. I thought he was 9 weeks old, but just found out that he is five weeks old. I've had cats before, But I have never fed raw to a cat. I do believe that it is best for him as I believe in the most natural care for ourselves and our animals.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice as of what/how to get him to eat?

I offered him a few 1/2 in cubes of pork heart and a thigh from a Cornish game hen at room temperature. Originally, I thought that he had eaten a piece of the pork heart, but he did not.

We tried feeding him again this morning with no luck. I put the food I offered him last night into the food processor and made it into a mince that is similar to a Pate style canned food, he is a little more interested in it and is going up to it and sniffing it like crazy, but he isn't willing to try it.

From what I have heard/read about cats, you can not use the though love method as you can with dogs. Cats need to eat or else they will get sick?

So do I get to break down and buy kibble? Or can we give this a shot?

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
If he's only 5 weeks old, he's barely started on solids! Cubes are too big for him at this point. Try pureeing the raw food and mixing it with canned (whatever he likes). What was he eating before?

At this age, you can smear a bit of the raw puree in his mouth. . .I do it to get babies to eat their canned food. It gets them used to the taste.

And no, not kibble! It's the worst thing for cats. If you need a commercial food, canned only is best.

Last edited:

melissa kovach

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Okay thank you.

We did put his food into the food processor and make it into a mince/puree. I will try to smear some of it in his mouth and see what he does.