"new" Cat Behavior

Tonita

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello everyone. Let me say first that I am 67 years old, retired but have had cats, dogs and horses most of my adult life. I'm a professional groomer and have worked for years in animal hospitals as a groomer and assistant tech. I apologize in advance if this gets too long.

Having said all that, I'm at a loss with my new kitty Simba. I am his third person and he's only 4 years old. His last family had him for 2 years and I brought him home with me to another state the day after Easter this year. I was told he was very shy and probably prefer being the only pet, which he is and he's strictly indoors. I did bring him to the vet for overall health check and he's healthy.

He adjusted very well at his own pace. He hid for the first couple of days. I went away for two weeks and had my brother in law come in daily. The cat never showed his face the whole time. A woman came in the last two days and he came right out for her. Any time a strange person comes in he hides and doesn't come out for hours.

During the day, he's pretty much a normal kitty. He stays close to me most of the time or sleeps on my bed. I play with him a couple of times a day with his toys. He has a big picture window to look out of when he wants, plenty of food, a water fountain and clean litter at all times. Overnight is the issue. He seems to do everything in his power to keep me awake.