Neutered Last Week - Smells Awful

permanentruby

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I adopted a new cat a couple of days ago - he's two-years-old and was neutered just last Thursday. He absolutely WREAKS and smells up everything he lies on, rooms, etc. We got some waterless shampoo stuff for him, but it just isn't cutting it.

When will we be able to bathe him?

kashmir64

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Does it smell like antiseptic or infection? If it's the latter, you may want to take him to a vet and have it checked. As far as bathing, I don't know. I've only done butt baths on babies. Hopefully, someone can answer that one. I've actually only had one male cat, many females, and he only smelled of antiseptic for a day or two.

amysuen

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Yes, what kind of smell is it? I'm no expert but we've had 9 cats spayed/neutered over the years and I don't remember them having any smell except for a mild antiseptic/hospital smell right after they got back from the vet. If he's smelling that strongly I'd take him to the vet to make sure there's no infection.

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
I agree with the other posters. I would be concerned about an infection. The only smell that Charlie ever has after the vet is the smell of the clinic.

Zolari's Mom

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
(This is permanentruby...for some reason my account isn't working)

Sorry, I should have identified the smell better. I don't think it smells like an infection? The best way I can describe it is that he smells like a barn.

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
Has he been cleaning himself after he uses the litterbox? Traces of feces on his bottom would certainly make him smell like a barn.

Zolari's Mom

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Has he been cleaning himself after he uses the litterbox? Traces of feces on his bottom would certainly make him smell like a barn.