Need Some Advice..what's The Best Thing To Do For My Kitty?

erikaash27

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hey everyone! I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this so I'm sorry if it isn't.

Anyways, I'm a graduate student and home is about 2 hours away for me. Thanksgiving break is coming up so I'll be going home for it. My cat Milo hates car rides! He has pica and driving/going away from where he's used to really stresses him out (like most cats lol). He just had surgery about a month ago to have a lump removed on his face and he has recovered really well! But, he unfortunately ate a string off of one of his toys about 2 weeks ago that was about a foot long. :( It still hasn't passed, but he has been eating/drinking/pooping/peeing and is his normal playful self. I'm not sure if I've just missed it in his poop or what.

My concern is: is that I will bring him home with me and he'll start having issues with the string plus all the stress that comes with car rides and new places and obviously we won't have access to his normal vet. So I'm wondering, would it be better to just have him boarded at the vet here? I'm sure that would be stressful for him also, but that way he wouldn't have as long of a car ride and he would be able to be monitored by a vet in case something happens. But then again, he would be free to roam at my parents house instead of locked up in a cage and I would be with him. What do you think the best thing would be to do for him?

Thanks for your help in advance!!

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise