Need Advice On 7 Month Kitten

altairose

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello,

My boyfriend and I fell in love with a 7 month old kitten at the shelter and would love to adopt her. But we want to make sure she would fit our lifestyle before committing to adopting.
We do not have any pets right now and live in an apartment that allows cats. Both of us sometimes work long hours (I'm a physician who sometimes needs to be 'on call' in the hospital for 28 hours at a time, or work nights. His work is flexible but sometimes also works long hours).

Sleep is obviously very important for us with busy schedules, and we are willing to do sleep training for a cat if it meows into the night or early morning. We would have time to play 30+ minutes with the cat every day, and I don't think the cat would be left alone for more than 8 hours/day (for example, my usual work schedule is 6am - 6pm, and my boyfriend's schedule is 10am - 6-8pm).

Specifically, I'd like to know your experience with behavioral problems/needs of kittens at this age. I've heard of cat adolescence/terrible twos - what is your experience, when did it start and end for your cat, and what did you do about it?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

altairose

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I forgot to mention that the cat is a Russian blue mix. And I have had previous cat experience living with a roommate with an older (2 year old) cat and helping take care of her.

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Does your bedroom have a door? With highly irregular schedules, I'd want a door before adopting a cat. There are plenty of people on here that believe you can teach cats not to be a pain at 4 am but ... my strong advice would be to forget about it for now if you don't have a door.

Beyond that, what is this cat's background? How it acts in the shelter is not a great predictor of how it will act in your home, especially if its been there a while. Background, while not a perfect predictor either, tends to be important.