My Resident Cat Is Depressed Since New Kitten

PinkSox

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello!

So about a week ago I adopted a 13 week old kitten. I had been contemplating adding a second cat to my house for about 6 months or so as my resident cat would cry loudly when I left for work in the morning and when I came home. He's 2 years old, but is still a very energetic boy. He can easily play for 2-4 hours in a day (Not straight, but total) if given the chance, but my dear kitty boy was extremely clingy... he hated playing alone and would mostly only play when I played with him (Chase and wands are his favorite). He was so clingy he would get quite upset if I left him on weekends as he expected me to spend those days entirely playing and lounging with him. After doing some research I thought maybe if he had a kitty friend that would alleviate some of this behavior, specifically because when I adopted him (He was 8 months) he had been living with a woman and was quite bonded to her cat, so much so that he continuously followed the other cat around when I first met him and tried to interact with him. I even witnessed him cuddling with her cat!

Naturally, because of his previous behavior I assumed he would welcome a new cat with open arms, so I adopted my brand, new little kitten with high hopes, but decided to play it safe and do a slow introduction. I separated them completely for the first day, but as soon as I brought the new kitten home, my resident cat new something was amiss. He could smell the new kitten on my hands and for the first time ever hissed at me and even bopped me with his paw!

Even with the kitten locked in the bathroom my cat was not pleased at all, but I persisted in trying to make things work. I separated the two with a baby gate and started playing with the kitten where my cat could see us play. By day 4, I let them meet as there wasn't any hissing/growling through the baby gate or door at this point.