My cat's friend 'missing'

Fijit

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi,

Long story, but...

A year ago my cat had kittens. They were all adopted and she was neutered and started getting fat, which I'm worried about and don't really know what do to much about. She's mainly an indoor cat but will go out into the front yard and venture into the neighbour's garden too.

Anyway, about 2 weeks ago, a stray that i had been feeding for 3 months decided he wanted to come in, because it has recently gotten cold.

I let him into the spare room. My cat hated him for the first 2 days but then got used to him and enjoyed having him around. She felt braver with him around and wandered more; she was more active. (Backstory: my cat got attacked when she was 6 months old and has been super scared/ nervous around other cats, apart from the father of her children, since then, so I was impressed at how well she took to him).

So I took the stray to the vet to get him checked over and it turned out he had a microchip and the owners wanted him back.

I was so disappointed but had to let him go.

Since then, my cat has seemed depressed. I can just see it in her eyes. She's not much of a cuddler anyway but since then she's been even more closed off.

What do i do?

I'm thinking of getting another kitten for her? But she is so nervous around other cats to start with and I'm scared she may not accept a new one.

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
To accept another adult cat within two days is really unusual for an adult cat over two and makes me think there is a very good chance your cat will accept a kitten. If your cat is younger than two, they tend to have an easier time of it.