My cat has Constipation

Bee_the_kitty's_mom

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello, it's my first time posting here.
My cat Bee started vomiting yesterday, I also noticed when she went to the litter box she was straining and nothing came out (she had pooped in the morning but it was small ). I took her to the vet and after some x-rays was told she's severely constipated and has to be kept with them for them to administer laxatives and an enema if needed.
Today, I called them and they told me she has not eaten and not pooped even after being on laxatives, the vet said that they'll wait before giving her an enema. At around noon I passed by to check on her and was told she pooped a small amount after giving her an enema. She hasn't pooped since then (it's night time now). Last I called I was told to expect her to be kept a couple of days and they'll administer her another enema in the morning after giving her laxatives at night and see how it goes.
The thing is she was extremely stressed when I saw her which is expected I guess but that's why she's not eating.
Wanted to ask if anyone had any experience in such a thing and were enemas administered every day once only? I'm not sure why they are giving her laxatives 3 to 4 times if it's not working as expected and whether it's dangerous. Should I take her to another vet for a second opinion? Is it normal to stay for days for such a case?
Sorry for the long post and hope someone helps I'm really worried for her.

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise
Everything You Need To Know About Constipation In Cats – TheCatSite Articles
TCS article about constipation in general
Search Results for Query: constipation
Search Results for Query: enemas
Search on TCS for threads related to constipation or enemas
Constipation in Cats
Veterinary information