My 2 Year Old Kitty Has Recently Been Diagnosed With Hcm

summer9658

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone. It is my first time posting here. I am glad to have found a website where I could find people who have gone through the same thing as I have, as this recent ordeal has been the most terrifying experience.

Last Thursday, my kitty Pepper stopped eating. I took her to the vet the next morning and she observed her and gave her an appetite stimulant and some sub q fluids. I bought her so many different types of food and treats thinking I could try to convince her to eat, to no avail. Friday night, I noticed pepper began to breath really rapidly. I took her to the ER. They told me Pepper was in heart failure, and I nearly fainted. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. They said that cats usually have a prognosis of 6-12 months with the disease, HCM. I was panicking. The next day, Pepper was still in the Oxygen tank. Finally, on Sunday they said that Pepper was stable but that her kidney values were high, so they were balancing that. Finally, on Monday we saw the cardiologist who made me feel some hope. He said Pepper's case was mild and started her on Lasix, (.35 ml 3x a day). Pepper is home now. She still looks kind of tired, but she is eating.

While this is already all concerning and worrying to me, what is scaring me is that I notice her hair is sticking up, kind of like how it was for 2 weeks or so leading up to the episode. I don't know if this is from residual stress or if its normal, or if theres still a problem. We are seeing the vet tomorrow for follow up blood work.

I've attached some pictures of her fur. I know this may not be a telling sign, but I am on the look out for all signs and I don't know.. This kind of seems like something might be up?

Thanks for all of your help.

Attachments

Genesis123

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise