My 16yo cat with FHV has good blood work but keeps getting sick

katmaz77

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi all,
This is my first time posting, and I am open to any support/suggestions/insights as I am so desperate to help my sweet boy Shnuggles.

A little history about Shnuggles: I adopted him as a kitten from a friend who could no longer keep him when I was 13, so his beginnings are a bit of a mystery. I believe he originally came from a humane society. His first vet visits revealed he had a mild respiratory issue but was healthy. He had no health issues until he was about 14 and it was revealed that he has the feline herpes virus and a mild case of asthma. He is an indoor cat so I believe he may have picked up the virus as a kitten in the humane society. The vet prescribed lysine supplements and prednisolone for the asthma.

Since the diagnoses this has been an ongoing issue with flare ups happening every few months. Things came to a head when I had to move cities for work last August 2019. A full examination at a new vet revealed he needed a few teeth pulled. This new vet also took him off of prednisolone and onto a cat puffer as needed. The move and the surgery were a lot of stress on Shnuggles and I feel like he has never *fully* recovered. The stress lead to more frequent herpes flare ups and weight loss, however he has always bounced back to a good place.