Music/bass & Cats

alizero

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, 

Semi new to the forums. I signed up a little bit ago due to an issue my cat was having but ended up just going to the vet over it instead of waiting to figure it out.

New issue not sure if Vet can help.

I have a 16 year old cat, named Ali (like the boxer). Not sure what kind he really is. Have had him since he was a few months old and ever since. 

I work in the music industry, studying sound engineering, and have been recently been building a studio in my own apartment. I have had Ali for the most part of his entire life. I have always been around music as has he. I recently was able to acquire a good set of speakers for my studio. I set them up today and began playing with the sound from them. They're great but what I noticed was Ali was scared at first. 

I think the subwoofer is what scared him the most. When it first went on he literally jumped & ran.  I turned it down quickly to a tolerable level and he is still walking around scared. 

I picked him up and held him close, tried introducing him to the equipment. I guess trying to get him to understand where it's coming from. Still walking around like he's scared. Turned the subwoofer off, and he is fine again. Turn it on scared little one again. 

This was in the beginning, after about 5 hours he is coming around slightly. Finally, sitting next to me where before he would cower somewhere on his own or run when I tried to pick him up. 

I love my equipment, job, and studio but I love my cat more so I have a couple questions and was hoping someone could answer them for me. 

Will he ever get used to the noise/sound? Or will he continue to act like he's scared? Like I said after a few hours he is finally sitting next to me but I don't want him to be scared at all.