moving to one room - will her behaviour get worse?

jeh

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I recently tried to rehome my beloved cat of 7 years. She wakes me up at 4 am every morning. If I feed her, she'll usually leave me alone - even if she still has food in the dish, she won't eat unless I get up and feed her. If I ignore her, she'll destroy stuff - she's ripped up some textbooks and some of my sheet music. I live in a bachelor apartment so there's no way to shut her in another room.

I'm a university student, so I have to live where I can afford. I will be moving to one room in a house pretty soon, and I feel like making her live in an even tinier space isn't fair to her, and I don't know if her destructive behaviour would get worse. The landlord won't let her roam the house, she has to stay in my room. One of the other people living in the house also keeps a cat in his room.

I tried to rehome her today though, and I'd talked with the guy adopting her and he gave me a reference and let me look at his place and he seemed great, but he'd never had a cat before. I brought her over and left her there, and she hid pretty much immediately. I'd only left her there for half an hour before the guy called me back to say that she was hiding and taking swipes at his dog, so he didn't want her any more. By the time I'd gotten her back to my apartment, she'd urinated on herself and there are a few sticky spots on her fur that I'm not sure what they are. She seems to be ok, she didn't hide when we got back to my apartment, just resumed her usual perch on the windowsill, but I don't know how to get her to wash herself. I wiped her down with a damp cloth, but she needs to wash herself. She's washing her face and paws, but not 'down there'.

So I'm really hesitant to try and find her a new place to live if she reacts like that. I don't know what to do. I don't think she can live in just one room.

darlili

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise