Moving out of country question

linguist

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi guys.

I am an international student and after finishing my Ph.D I might have to go back to Hong Kong if I don't get a job offer here. While surfing on the pet section of craigslist, I saw so many owners saying that they can't keep their pets because they are moving out of country. This may be a stupid question... but is it not allowed to take your cats with you to another country even with vets records and all the documentation? I do know that many countries allow foreigners to take pets with them... so what I am asking is... does the states not allow anyone to take cats out of the country? If so, I would be devastated. I am planning on adopting another cat; and if I move, I will move with them.

goldenkitty45

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Its pretty costly. And depending on where you are moving, you may have very extensive quarentines. I know Hawaii, Australia, UK, and a few others have 6 month quarentines with NO exceptions.

That's why celebrities that may go to Hawaii for a few months will leave their pets on a ship anchored offshore - they are NOT allowed to just carry the pets onto the island and not be quarentined!

mskitty666

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Of course you can take your pets with you. It takes planning, knowing the regulations of the country to which you are travelling and coordinating with the airlines. They might restrict flying animals during certain times of the year due to weather and everyone will require the appropriate documentation. My husband is in the military and we moved 4 cats to Germany and 6 cats back. Only people who think animals are disposable use the excuse that they are moving to throw away their pets.