"Meatloaf"

Tekknowgerl

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thank you for the warm welcome. I have a question but I don't know where to post it. My neighbor got seriously ill and has been in the hospital for 2 weeks or so and abandoned his cat ("Meatloaf") . One other neighbor decided to take him but only for a short time. Long story short (too late, haha!). Now I have Meatloaf and he's been under my bed since he's gotten here. I have a single/bachelor apt (only separate room is the bathroom). I've left him alone, provided him water & food, placed his little bed near the bed he's under along with his litter box. How long is it going to take before he eats/drinks or uses his litter box? I know he's been through a lot, so I don't want to rush him. I definitely want to keep him, however I DO NOT know how long it should be before I seek a professional's help in case Meatloaf is sick or something.

Where do I post these questions?

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
It may take a day,week, or month. He will eventually start eating. Talk quietly to him. It took my cat Coco 3 months to move from under the couch then bedroom for a year. She had a tough life before I rescued her. Being in an apt with one cat, not 3 like me, will make it much easier for him.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Tekknowgerl

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thank you maggie101! I didn't expect an answer so quickly. I barely know anything about him besides his name and I want to be able to take him to the vet in case he needs to be spayed/neutered and get him cleaned up (he's got long hair, I think it's white). My biggest concern is the water consumption and the "pooping", how long can he go without either?

danteshuman

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
First, thank you so much for fostering him & taking it upon yourself to find him a safe long term harbor!!!!!