Lymphoma Diagnosis

Catsctatchyou

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
After many tests and a liver biopsy my sweet Spooky has been diagnosed with lymphoma. Cancer of the liver.

His issues first started in November. My vet has advised the only treatmeant is a 18 week course of chemotherapy. And she advised there is a possibility he could not survive the chemo.

I’ve never been through this before. He seems comfortable right now. He’s eating and drinking.

Should I start the chemo treatment or just make him comfortable. I want to give him a chance if he could get better but I don’t want to cause him suffering if he’s not going to get better.

daftcat75

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm told cats tolerate chemo really well. It's not nearly so rough on them as it is on people. I have no experience with cats and chemo though. Hopefully someone else who does will chime in.

FelisCatus

RIP </3
Super Cat
Purraise
My currently sick kitty cat with Mammary cancer stopped doing chemo (Palladia) since it didn’t help. The problem with the type of cancer your cat has is that it affects the liver, chemo would be processed and filtered through there which means it could be more deadly yes. My kitty cat had to do bloodwork every 2 weeks and their liver was in perfect condition.

Did they give you the option of a prednisone shot right into the tumor on the liver? Not sure how viable that is since it’s not a mast cell tumor on the skin or something.

What stage is the cancer? Has it metastasized (spread)?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Catsctatchyou

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
We done a ultrasound and xrays of his liver and everything was clear. So there was no tumor on the liver. We just got the results back of his liver biopsy today and it came back as lymphoma.

She said we could try steroids if we chose to not start chemo but he wouldn’t last very long on steroids alone.