Liver Issues In A Brand New Baby Kitten

Hales123

I have 3 cats. Roo, Harley, and Eddie ❤️❤️
Kitten
Purraise
hello friends I need help,
My kitten’s name is Eddie and we brought him home only a few days ago to our other 2 cats. Everything seemed fine until the second day we had him home he wasn’t quite acting like a cat. He wouldn’t play and only wanted to sleep. Took him to the vet on day 4, turns out he is jaundiced (has yellow skin and yellow urine) and is extremely ill to the point where I had to pay $200 for his medicine (the vet thinks he may have liver failure) I have no problem with paying for his medicine because I just want him to be better! But then I’m hearing that I may need to take him to get an ultrasound which will be $600. I’m a college student and I work in a restaurant, there’s no way I can afford this!! And now I’m hearing that the adoption agency I got him through might have known about this and didn’t think to tell me or even treat him for his symptoms before it got this bad! Please, can anyone help me figure out what to do for him?? I’m helpless and I feel so bad for this poor baby. And I’m angry that someone at the adoption agency thought it to be okay to adopt this poor kitty out when he is clearly not okay! Just to make matters worse, and this was part of the reason I wanted to adopt him, he was extremely dirty when we brought him home (ears were dirty and black on the inside and his fur was covered in dirt or some kind of film) I just wanted to give him a loving home but this is a lot to take in!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Hales123

Kitten
Purraise
I'm so so sorry you're having to deal with this!!
It makes me wonder if your tiny one was exposed to something...
Does the medicine have milk thistle in it?
Have you talked to a different vet?

No Money For Vet Care? How To Find Help And Save Your Cat's Life

Financial Aid for Pets