Kitten Tries To Eat Sweets?

SamIAmWich

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have a 4 month old male Bombay kitten and he seems to like sweets?
I had another cat before him and that cat used to want to smell what I ate but if it was sweet he would pull back and look at me like I disrespected his entire existence with this surgery treat. But Cole (my Bombay) tried to eat a sugar cookie I let him sniff.
Googled it, and somewhere said it may be the other ingredients in the cookie, but thus far I have caught him attempting to eat lemon cake, pecan pie, a little wafer cookie, and red velvet cake. If I have sweets I have to be extra alert with him around, because for some reason he comes after those so much harder than if I have any other food.
And his food bowl is always full, so it's not a question of that... I'm just concerned. This is by far the oddest pet I have had in my life (and the cutest).

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Hi SamIAmWich SamIAmWich :wave3:Welcome to TCS!

Cats actually can't taste sweet, so its very odd that Cole is so obsessed with sweet foods :confused: It's good that you're being so vigilant with him, as deserts or sweets really aren't good for cats. It must be something else in the sweets that he likes. Everything you mention is very starchy, and I have had cats who love bread and other carbs (two of my childhood cats would break into and nibble on loaves of bread if they could get to them:rolleyes:), and my current girl goes crazy for poppadoms! The semi feral barn cat I care for used to steal horse feed in the winter too, and that's often molasses coated (though in her case it was because she wasn't being fed).

If he's fed a primarily kibble diet, it may be that he's got used to eating starchier foods, so that may be at least part of an explanation for you.

ccfalkner

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise