Kitten Lunging At Dog & Biting And Scratching

LokiLo

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I recently got a new kitten about two weeks ago he is now 8 weeks old. He's settled in nicely to the home and is very loving at times but very hyper at times like a normal kitten would be. He is my first cat ever so I'm still learning things. I kept him isolated for about 4 days before introducing him to my dog and at first he kept his distance and hissed. Now that the dog is used to him she seems scared by him and he will lunge at her as if he's trying to scare her or assert his dominance and my dog hides behind me when he does this. He also wants to play with her tail which freaks my dog out and every time he does it I feel she might snap at him. Is there anything I can do about this to get the kitten to stop? My dog seems to be trying so hard to get along and my kitten doesn't seem to be trying at all.

On top of that he attacks my feet and hands - especially when I'm in bed trying to sleep. I've tried ignoring him but it hurts too bad for me to lay there and do nothing. I tell him Ow and then say no before putting him on the floor but it's only a few minutes later that he comes right back to me and does it again until he gets bored and stops.

catsknowme

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
:hellocomputer:Welcome to TCS!
That sounds like normal built-up kitten energy. Getting a second playmate would be best, esp if he is a "bottle baby". This is why the recommended age for adoption/separation from litter is 12 weeks(mom and siblings teach manners and social skills). In cat rescue, though, life doesn't work out that way.
So, another kitten or not, you will need to ratchet up play sessions both on frequency and intensity, to burn off the excess energy. It is actually a good thing that he obviously has trust and confidence because that is an easier fix than for a scaredy-cat.