Izzy's name. Thinking of changing it.

sherrymyra

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I have a dog named Lucy.  I'm thinking I should not have named a cat Izzy because I think Lucy is thinking I am saying Lucy when I say Izzy.   I thought it would be different enough.  
  Now don't know what to think.   

She is about 17 weeks old and knows her name.   I'm thinking she would adapt to a new name but what do you think?   Maybe it would be harder for me to adapt.  lol   I was sort of thinking of Gidgit.  Not even sure of

how it would be spelled.  So it would be totally different than either of my dogs names, Maggie and Lucy.  I

wanted to get away from the same sound of the end of the name too.   

laralove

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I would think changing it to something that has the same start but ends differently might be an easier transition and less confusing for her. Something like Isabel. But I really don't know. I have no experience with this. I changed my cat's name when I adopted him, he was around 5 months old. He'd been in a foster home for about a month and didn't respond to the name they gave him. He's around a year now and still doesn't respond to Oliver! 

catmomma627

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I really think it will be okay. Any cat that goes through a shelter gets a name change and they do okay.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

sherrymyra

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hmm.. I like Isabel That would be a good one. Honestly maybe the hardest part may be me trying to use a new name.  But Lucy get confused over Izzy and I really think it would be better for everyone.  

I think starting out it may be good to just use her name alot to get it to sink in.  It would be so close to Izzy though I don't think it would be an adjustment for her.  

sherrymyra

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I have been calling her Isabel today.  I don't think it is really noticeable  to her.  And I think it has helped with Lucy's confusion.