Is T-Shirt Yarn Safe for Kittens?

Tiny Ball of Fuzz

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello all!
I have been crocheting for quite a few years now, and while I am not an expert in any way, I enjoy doing it, and I was wondering whether I could make something for my kittens. I know that regular yarn is not safe for cats for many reasons, but I'm not as sure about something called sheet yarn, or t-shirt yarn, which is essentially narrow strips of fabric. If I were to make my own t-shirt yarn, and then crochet it into a cat bed, would it be safe to give to kittens? Or would you consider it unsafe, in case the fabric frayed, or (unlikely) unraveled?
This is the type of thing that I mean:
1681676744653.png

Alldara

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
It's definitely about ingestion. I use wool to make items for my cats. They have a woollen dryer ball to play with and I recently made this kicker. (Water bottle for scale)

I keep my yarn in a sealed bin. Cats are otherwise supervised.

I feel most safe using the conky yarn around them as it's not easily invested. You know your cat and their bitey-ness best so do what feels safest to you.

Regular inspection (one every few weeks) for your cat's toys and bed are always important. For example, I bought a commercial bed. Eventually they ripped it and I had to throw it away because stuffing is dangerous when injested. But it wasn't formerly unsafe for them to lay on and enjoy until it was broken.

Attachments

Last edited:

iPappy

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Kittens might be hit or miss (they like to chew!), but adult cats that are past that might really enjoy these beds. They are beautiful and look so cozy!

Haivynrome

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise