Is My Indoor Cat More Likely to Get Lost?

Wheekie

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
My kitty Princess NEVER goes outside. Someone ( who thinks she's a cat expert!) told me that I should take her outside once in awhile...let her sniff around...learn how the house and yard smell, so that if she ever does escape, she can find her way home again. Is that true? Never heard that before!

Maria Bayote

Mama of 4 Cats, 4 Dogs , 2 Budgies & 2 Humans
Top Cat
Purraise
I am not an expert on this, but if your indoor cat is perfectly content and happy inside then there is no reason for her to sniff around and familiarize the surroundings. However, indoor kitties get confused and disoriented when taken outside. So, if you wish her to get "familiarized" bringing her out and walking her around the block is not a bad idea, but only with a leash. I, too, allow my cats to get out of the house once a week, to breath fresh air but they are also with leash when I do so.

Some stray cats I had been feeding outside never returned even when obviously they were too familiar of the area.. They were totally strays but I knew several who had failed to come back.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi. You'd be better off getting her microchipped so that she can be easily identified if she would happen to get out by accident and wander away from the area. IMO, it is better that she not get used to being outside as I am inclined to believe that would make her bolder about straying away from your home should she happen to get out. And, if she wanders far enough, she won't likely know how to get back to your home anyway.