Is It Possible Cat Is Not Stray?

Catlover579

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi there , I am wondering if it's possible a stray cat I have been feeding for the past 6-7 months is not really stray? Has anyone heard of something like that, where an outdoor/indoor cat that has a home but still comes to eat at someone else's ? I know it's not likely but I guess I was just wondering if that ever happens because this cat Iv been feeding is on the fat side , lol. I don't know where it goes but always comes to eat in the morning and evening. It's also not that scared but will not come up to me to pet it . Has eaten around me nearby and also meows at me ,like a soft meow .

Kieka

Snowshoe Servant
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
It's possible he has a home or that he has multiple feeders. You could put a collar (breakaway) on him with a note saying to contact you. If he has multiple feeders, then just coordinate feedings somewhat so he doesn't go hungry. If he has a home, talk to them and maybe reduce feedings or adjust. I know if someone was feeding my cats I'd ask them to either stop or provide them food to prevent tummy upset.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Catlover579

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Did you find anything else out about this stray??
No I have not found anything out..Iv been feeding him or her since February and I thought at first she was pregnant because she eats alot and is on the fat side..but I was paying attention to see if she would slim down but her body has been the same so I don't think she was pregnant after all do now I'm just assuming she's a chubbier kitty. I was just wondering if anyone heard of a cat that would willingly go eat extra food?
Honestly I do think it is a stray but I just was hoping there may be a chance it did belong to someone because I live in Michigan and it's really going to be hard seeing her suffer the bitter winter we get :frown: I am not able to take her in but I continue to feed her morning and evening.