Is Is True That Acana And Orijen Are Being Sued?

andreiamlm

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
As I was currently looking for online information where to get a new online seller that ships to Portugal I've just found this website:

Lawsuit filed against Champion Pet Food – Acana and Orijen

I'm really in shock , I used to give my cats Royal Canin dry food for sterilised and started to buy Ocana as so many reviews online and the ingredients seemed so good.

Looking eagerly for advise

Thank you

Catlover579

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
That article was from last year..someone did try to get a lawsuit against them but it was dismissed because it was all false. I have been feeding Orijen for many years to my dog and cats and have never had any problems. They both love it and they are very healthy on it .

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Good eye, Catlover579, I looked right at the date and didn't go past the month, being it's March. :doh: eesh

In any case, I've been giving my boy Orijen treats for quite some time with no issues :)

white shadow

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
That article was from last year..someone did try to get a lawsuit against them but it was dismissed because it was all false........
Ah..........no........it was not dismissed.

First off, that lawsuit concerned Acana and Orijen dog foods.

Secondly, part of the lawsuit was dismissed, but the core of the lawsuit stands:

"The thrust of Defendants’ motion is to bristle at Plaintiff’s allegations and call them slander. Defendants’ displeasure at her accusations is no basis for dismissing them, however. Although certain of Plaintiff’s claims are properly dismissed, her primary theory survives. This matter must be resolved by reference to evidence, not pleadings."

Basically, the Judge has ruled “evidence” must be provided by Champion Pet Food regarding all of their marketing claims. This will be an interesting lawsuit to follow.