Ideas on how to cover small open tumor

juntjoo

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
He's got a tumor that's grown outside of the skin he won't stop licking and it's bloody. So I want to cover it somehow. There's no way a standard bandaid would work as there's no dry skin. I suppose if I had a bad aid small enough, a circular one it might work which I may try but I want to fish for ideas. And there's no surgical remedy for this as I did have it cut out years ago and it just grew back. I supposed I may have it removed again as it just keep growing but idk at this point. It's superficial as far as I can tell, as it it doesn't seem to be growing onto the muscle, just along the fascia but I'm no doctor. So for now I'm trying to figure out a way to cover it or stop him from licking it. I don't want to use one of those cone collars. Though I may consider that as a last resort or supplemental tool in getting it dry enough to stick something on it. I was thinking painting something on it like nail polish or something. Anything to cover the surface. Is there like a bandaid material without the cotton? Hmmm.. Maybe just remove it from the bandaid. What would you use?

Attachments

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
as it just keep growing
Hi! You can't paint it with anything since whatever that might be will not only get into the skin/flesh/surface of the tumor but also he'll ingest it. If you were to wrap a bandage around his ribs (not too tightly) covering the tumor, which will need to be changed regularly, there are bandage sprays and lick deterrents to apply to the bandage so he doesn't lick or chew on the bandage.

Due to the fact that it's growing, I would suggest getting him to a vet for a wellness check.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise