Ideas on getting a kitten to eat

jorose2

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I did a search and couldn't find any threads that covered this topic, so hope y'all don't mind helping me out :-) . I'm new here, so be gentle!

I got a foster kitten from animal care and control (I've been fostering for them over 5 years and over 50 kittens). She's already pretty big (10 weeks or so, 2 pounds-ish), but was just found, so needs the socialization that fostering provides. When we got her (Wednesday), she was terrified and would hiss at people who put hands toward her - now she's seeking us out and sitting in our laps :-D so great progress.

The problem is this: she doesn't eat. She ate a little the first few days, but next to nothing in the past day or two. I started her out with Science Diet dry kitten food, then switched to Iams canned in a couple of different fishy flavors to try to tempt her, and she's just not interested.

Today I was making lunch, and had a scrap of lunch meat leftover, so offered it to one of my adult cats - the foster JUMPED in front of the grown up cat and stole it! I was so pleased that she was eating at all that I gave her a few more pieces, and she was terribly indignant when I came to my senses and told her no more. I had to take her off the table 6 times before she'd stay away, lol.

So long story short, I've found SOMETHING that she likes to eat. Obviously, this is not an ideal situation for feeding her. What do you folks suggest I try next? If I let her get hungry enough, will she eat her food? I'm not used to getting kittens this old who won't at least eat the canned stuff.

Thanks for reading, I know I was long-winded.

mrblanche

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Little Friskies "Meaty Bits" look a lot like lunch meat to me! It's not the greatest food, but anything is better than nothing!

skimble

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Kudos to you for fostering.