Ideal age to spay a cat *for the cat*

Sugar Plum

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
What is the ideal age to spay a kitten/ cat for that individual cat, not the overpopulation crisis? Pediatric spays are new since anyone in my extended family had an unaltered kitten. I've done some reading and it makes no sense that there'd be no too young cut off, especially comparing to what's historically known about this in people (the castrati) and what is currently known about this in other animals. It would seem that it does impact development. I was guessing 6-9 months, based on what I remember from 30 years ago, but is there an ideal age?

Don't worry. Raphaela Puff won't have kittens. None of our pets have ever contributed to overpopulation or ever will. Please don't hijack this thread - I understand and, given the surplus of cats, fully endorse shelters fixing early.

Does anyone know?

Jem

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm no expert, but as far as I know, it's best that it's done before they go into their first heat. The average for a first heat is 6 months old but in some cases it can happen as early as 4 months.
By spaying before the first heat, you are greatly decreasing the chances of cancer, infection and of course the awful experience of going into heat. It's very uncomfortable for most cats.
As for males, I think the timeline is still appropriate, it helps to prevent any hormone based behavior issues, which can linger out of "habit" if neutering is done late, as well as cancer.
As for if there would be any adverse effects if done TOO early, I'm not sure. But like I said, I think (in my non-expert opinion) 4 - 6 months old is not too early.
Someone with more experience will hopefully come along and perhaps correct or add to anything I said.

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Here's a link to another thread in which the same question was discussed, including some links to research.

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise