I Need Help With My Cat, Smokey.

Cmoney

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi, i'm new to this but my cat, Smokey is always grumpy but when he was a kitten he always wanted to cuddle into me a lot and he doesn't like my mom, step-dad, and my 2 sisters. But right now he keeps hiding, he won't eat or drink etc. I'm worried about him everyday, what can I do to help him? please help me make him better he's been acting weird lately. :( He's only 3 years old and we have 6 cats all together and 2 dogs. I'm trying really hard to help him but everytime I try he attacks my other cats and the dogs when their near me. I don't want my mom to get rid of him. I am not losing him like I lost my first Smokey but he had cancer and he was 8 years old. :headshake:

FelisCatus

RIP </3
Super Cat
Purraise
Hi there, without a vet assessment this could be anything...

-are all of the cats neutered/spayed?
-does he have arthritis? Each step could be causing him pain and he is redirecting
-do you have pheromone diffusers around the house?
-does he get bullied by the other cats/dogs?
-is he an indoor/outdoor cat? Could be parasites

FelisCatus

RIP </3
Super Cat
Purraise
That’s most likely the cause then, although they may have lived together for ~3 years you should try and introduce them to each other as if they have never met before:

Introducing Cats To Cats

Also, the pheromone diffuser would probably help in this situation (not guaranteed).

FelisCatus

RIP </3
Super Cat
Purraise
If you have any questions or concerns along the way, don’t hesitate to come back and ask :)!

The main point of the reintroduction is to show Smokey JR that Smokey is not a threat.

I forgot to ask how many litter boxes do you have? For 6 cats you should have 6 litter boxes (plus one) so 7.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Cmoney

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Oh I forgot to mention that Smokey has been throwing up bleed the other day. But today he hasn't but he still won't eat or drink, etc.

FelisCatus

RIP </3