I might need to rehome MY cats

a_loveless_gem

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise

Yes you read right folks. Okay, firstly a quick update and description and an explanation wouldnt go astray.

I have three fully indoor cats, all healthy, housetrained, full of personality and vet checked.

Currently they are being boarded.

We are living with friends who will not understand cats and are beyond any redemption, though they don't hate cats. They're just dog people. And that's where I'm leaving it. Don't debate on that, put that in another thread, I want help for MY cats.

I'm trying not to cry as I type. It's near impossible.

I currently have a good job and I admit a high salary. However it means flying away from home for two weeks and returning for one in Perth. My fiance also lives in Perth. This job is what I have been dreaming of for years and I love it. It's hard work at times and high pressure but I have not had so much fun. I work as a lab technician at a minesite. There is no permanent accomodation there and there is a strict NO PETS policy to protect the environment and biodiversity and rightly so.

My fiance also wants to work there and he really could. He would work in the parts where chemistry knowledge isn't needed. This would literally set us up for life. It would be stupid of us to turn this opportunity down.

This leaves our cats in a quandry. We can easily find a pet friendly place to rent. That wouldn't be too hard. But we cannot leave our cats unattended to and we cannot fathom the thought of them being boarded long term. They deserve better than that.

I really do not want them to be put to sleep.

I'm considering all sorts of things right now. Even hiring a pet sitter for while we are away but I really don't know what expenses would be like. Boarding is horrendously expensive. Yes, money is still a factor despite everything that I have said.

We have a wedding date to set and bills to pay still. We also want to buy a house of our own.