I don't even know where to begin.

romanandlilith

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am going to apologize in advance as this might be more of a rambling post than a specific question.

Some background: I am currently caring for three kittens that I found at 6 weeks old that had to be separated from their mother young due to a lot of factors. However thankfully they transitioned to eating kitten food and canned food very easily. The kittens are now three months old and they are all doing great. I am moving in August into an apartment with three other people(I'm a college student). I am taking two kittens with me and my parents are keeping the third. I had a cat while I was in high school but unfortunately it had to be an outside cat and was eventually killed due to feline leukemia( she got in a fight and a wound got very infected). It completely shattered my heart. Now with these kittens I am so over protective and I want to do absolutely everything possible to keep them healthy and happy. I have spent many nights staying up late doing research on cats and kittens.

Recently I started looking into home cooked cat feeding and raw food diets. However I am utterly confused. Somehow it seems there is not enough information and too much at the same time. 

What exactly is the difference between home cooked and raw? 

Is it even safe to feed raw food to kittens? I would imagine their would be a lot of bacteria on raw meat even kept in a fridge or freezer?

How do you know how much/what kind/how often to feed cooked meat?

I've read that fish is bad for cats but i have also read that some fish is necessary??

Is it even financially possible for a college student to feed two cats raw or home cooked?

If anything I think I am leaning towards home cooked because raw meat makes me extremely nervous( I love to cook but I am always weary when handling raw chicken). But I have also read that cooking the meat takes out nutrients?