How To Help Kittens To Feed - Mom Is Feral, Semi-unfriendly

madana

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Long story short, I currently am trying to help a feral cat I'm calling Domino. She is not exactly hostile, but is not an ex-pet. She came to my property looking for food but always ran if I looked like I might dare step outside. I trapped her Friday and thank goodness, as she gave birth to 6 kittens over the last 2 hours tonight. She tolerates me ok but that is all.

She looks to be young - maybe 1.5 or 2 years old. I'm not sure as I have limited experience with cats. (I did foster another pregnant cat from the local colony this spring, but she was an ex-pet and very friendly and let me handle her babies no problem, so it was an entirely different scenario.) She did mostly ok on the birthing, though she had some hiccups with cleaning at least one of them quickly enough, and she is not too interested in helping the kittens nurse. I'm not sure if it's exhaustion, inexperience, or both. She is very protective of them, though.

I have been able to reach in and re-position the two that seem to have trouble getting a nipple, and despite a lot of hissing she hasn't tried to bite me - yet. The problem is because of her position in the cage, I can't tell if those two are latched on or not, and the last one born I can't even see as he is under her chest. Since she's not friendly, I can't just encourage or help her to lay out more fully so I can make sure all 6 have nipples. I'm sure at least one is not nursing as I still occasionally hear crying, and I'm sure if all were latched on, it'd be total quiet.