How to cut back on fat?

ldg

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I wonder how she's losing weight without being fed less calories? :dk: The only way I managed it with Billy (on an all raw diet) was dramatically altering the amounts fed at each meal, and averaging the amount he ate over a 3-5 day period.

Interesting. :nod:

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

otto

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Less fat, Laurie. The Tiki is significantly lower in fat that the By Nature Organic (12 % DMB vs 27 %) The calories are almost identical, 30.3 calories per ounce for the Tiki, 30 calories per ounce for the By Nature. I'm no nutritional expert, but it seems clear to me that, in this case, the difference is in the fat.

Plus, of course the change in scale increments, from lowest .05 to lowest .01 may have made a difference. Queen Eva has not lost with that change, though Mazy did lose a little.

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Less fat, Laurie. The Tiki is significantly lower in fat that the By Nature Organic (12 % DMB vs 27 %) The calories are almost identical, 30.3 calories per ounce for the Tiki, 30 calories per ounce for the By Nature. I'm no nutritional expert, but it seems clear to me that, in this case, the difference is in the fat.

Plus, of course the change in scale increments, from lowest .05 to lowest .01 may have made a difference. Queen Eva has not lost with that change, though Mazy did lose a little.
What doesn't make sense is that lower fat should mean lower calorie. Calories are calculated base on the protein, fat and carbohydrate content of a food. Protein and carbohydrates have about the same calories while fat has more than double that of protein and carbs. So when fat is decreased so should the total calories. 

Could be the calorie information for one or both isn't quite right. 

Last edited:

ldg

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise