How to change sleep pattern and set boundaries - a rescue cat

belochka

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi all,

As some of you might have read in the intro, I am very new to cats - my family rescued a sweet guy and now we have all sorts of questions.

Here are my questions:

1. As a result of the abusive and unloving circumstances of this cat's previous place of living, he became used to sleeping through the day and bouncing all over at night. His night active lifestyle can be very disruptive to our sleep and we all have to get up very early for work.

Is there any way we could help him learn to be active during the day and sleep at night?

2. When he is running and jumping all over at night, he loves to jump on us sleeping which, of course, wakes us up dozen times per night.

How can we teach him that jumping on us/bed at night is a 'no,' but it's ok to jump on us/bed during the day?

Thank you!

catwoman707

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Welcome!

Basically it all falls in to place by getting them to sleep during the night, which might mean containing him where it's dark and there is nothing to do.

I know this because I have a cat rescue group and have a 'cat room' where I care for medical needs, nursing moms, young kittens, etc and always get comments from adopters on how amazed they are that their new kitty sleeps during the night.

This is because they are in large cages, and when I'm done for the day I shut the room down, only leaving a nightlight and calm music on, and it somehow trains them to sleep at night and in the morning I go in there and open it all up again, clean their cages and give toys and let them interact.

Yeah, no. I would not be okay with being woke up all night long by a spunky wide awake cat! :)

DreamerRose

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
You need to put him a separate room until he sleeps during the night. On the weekends when you are home, wake him up during the day and play with him to help him get his days and nights straightened out.