How To Bring In My Stray Cat With An Older Cat?

FrankieNMurphy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have been feeding ( and loving and bedding) a stray cat for 5 months and he has turned into an amazingly sweet cat. I've tried to find him a home, but I want him to be an indoor-only cat.
I wonder if anyone has ever brought in a stray (already vetted and neutered!) into their home with another cat?
I hate to take him to the shelter 'cuz he wouldn't do well in a cage. And, well, I think I want to keep him.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

FrankieNMurphy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise

FrankieNMurphy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
He is pretty cute, isn't he? I read the article, but it didn't really address my problem.
Do you know of anyone you can point me to that has done this?

walli

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
He's gorgeous! If he is that sweet I don't think it will be too difficult!
Have they seen each other?

FrankieNMurphy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Do you think that if I brought the stray (BOB) in in a crate and put him in the room for a bit (then take him outside again) that would help them adjust?

marmoset

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Yes I've brought in 5 cats from the street in my adult life (so not including the cats we had when I lived with my parents).

How long ago was he vetted and neutered? I'm assuming that you are able to pet him and that he hasn't been in the house yet? You said you'd vetted and bedded him so I just want a little clarification. This makes a big difference in how you transition him indoors.

Do you think that if I brought the stray (BOB) in in a crate and put him in the room for a bit (then take him outside again) that would help them adjust?