How Often Do You Dental?

LuxBear

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
After six extractions and a mass removal in Moo's mouth, I have become more aware of dental issues in cats. I'm taking my two other boys next week for routine cleanings hoping to prevent oral issues. All three cats are 4-6 years old and have never had dentals (except Moo this year.) I honestly had no idea cats needed dental cleanings. Of course it makes sense, I guess I just never thought about it until Moo starting having issues. How often do you take your cats for dental cleanings? Do you do it routinely or just when you notice buildup or issues?

duckpond

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My cats go for a yearly wellness check, it includes any dental cleanings the vet thinks they need at that time. Mine are still young so no dental problems yet. last check no one had any plaque or build up. He looks in their mouth quite a bit, so i guess we will clean when he sees anything? I have never done dental before this vet and these guys either. so i dont know a lot about it either.

jcat

Mo(w)gli's can opener
Veteran
Purraise
It really depends on the cat. Our current cat is just six and had all but his front teeth extracted around three years ago due to FORL. Our last cat had his first dental cleaning at 3 and then roughly every other year. Our vet checks teeth at the annual wellness exam (every 6 months for seniors) and advises whether a dental cleaning is needed.

muffy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I used to have 8 indoor cats and 7 of them needed to have their cleaned every year starting around age 4 or 5. They were all related to each other. Tiger and Robbie needed their teeth cleaned twice a year and they all needed to have several teeth pulled. Muffin and Muffie lived to be 17 and 18 and by that time all of their teeth were gone.

lalagimp

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise