How much mannose?

RavenF

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, I'm new here. I am looking for the correct dosage for my cat (approx 8 lbs) of d mannose now foods 500mg , please? Thanks so much. :)

white shadow

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi R RavenF and a very warm welcome to the forum !

Here is a reliable plain-language coverage of D-Mannose for you, dosages and all: Tanya's Guide... - URINARY TRACT INFECTIONS (UTIS) - Treatments - D-Mannose.

Maybe you'll post back and tell us what you're dealing with and about your kitty. There's lots of friendly help.....just waiting!

Then, if you do..............................maybe you could show us a pic or two.....pleeeeeeese!

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi and welcome to TCS! I have been giving Feeby pure D-Mannose powder for nearly 3 years now. 1/4 tsp (500 mg) once daily. Prior to that she was having frequent bacteria/UTIs, and since starting her on this product, she has had one UTI. I don't consider it to be an on-off treatment, but rather an ongoing maintenance dose - not only to stave off bacterial build up that can lead to UTIs, but for general bladder health. it is not processed through the digestive tract, only by the kidneys, so whatever amount you give is peed out with the bacteria.

Last edited:

bikkaqwertyy

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Yes, the Tanya CKD page is excellent.

We used to give 250mg daily to Tikka but we upped it to 500mg since she is more immunosuppressed now. Her weight has been in the 6-9 pound range. She eats it well in food, which I can't say for other supplements. For 250mg we purchased a cute little 1/8 teaspoon scoop since it's a non-standard size. Please note that this is only for preventing E coli infections specifically.

She didn't get a UTI for 5 months (actually that was just last week, lol) until she started more intense chemotherapy for something else.