How long should he be alone....?

ashesmomma96

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Ok, before I begin, know that I love my cat more than anything. He is my first pet, and I rescued him from an abusive household and now he's spoiled rotten.

The problem is, I am a young college student living in my first apartment (which is the only reason I was able to save him, my parents are both allergic to cats)
I am half an hour away from any of my nearest family members, and I often spend the night at my parents house or my boyfriends. I worry about leaving him alone, especially for more than one night at a time.
I leave him plenty of toys, food, water, and a clean litter box, but he is still in the apartment alone.
Is me leaving him alone so often a bad thing? I want him to understand how much I love him but I can't always make it home.

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
It's really not great to leave a cat alone for more than one night. Maybe try and plan a little more and ask a friend to cat sit if you need to be away longer. You could also try to encourage your BF to stay at yours more often.[article="0"][/article]

MoochNNoodles

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Honestly; once in a while is fine, but otherwise no.  He needs regular attention and stimulation.  Bored cats can get themselves into mischief.  Also; what if he should get sick or injured?  

I'm not sure how far your parents and boyfriends are from your apartment; but is there anyone else who could help look in on him from time to time?  Someone who would play with him for a bit?

mazie

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise